Easel painting prep

IMG_2597
Today I fixed all the little pieces of painted glass back onto clear glass easel plates with a mixture of beeswax and rosin ready for final glasspainting up against the daylight. This is where I add any final shading and adjust transparency where needed.

We made two very quick videos of the process for all those stained glass technique junkies….
waxing up a panel (68 seconds) and
putting the glass back onto the easel (22 seconds)

Here’s another panel, partly laid out on a glass easel plate prior to waxing up.

IMG_2600

IMG_2602

I have to end with a more interesting photo because I never know whether Facebook will choose my first or my last photo to post to my Page. If there’s anyone out there who can tell me how to control this please do!

IMG_2594

6 thoughts on “Easel painting prep

  1. Pingback: Glasspainting at the easel (videos) | Inside the stained glass studio

  2. what is the putty you are using to hold glass in place for preliminary work, not the final beeswax stage?
    Nevermind on the question regarding arabic gum, found your student notes. Grateful.

Leave a Reply

