Watch me painting roses!

Moving ahead on the amateur video front: Painting rugosa roses in real time.

Since I do not know how to edit my movie I’m posting still photos too, starting with a camera’s eye view of my work space with cartoon in the background (full-size drawing) and dozens of pieces of partially painted glass on the light table.

IMG_2568

IMG_2565
If I switch the overhead light on and turn off the light table you can see my tools, paint and transparent-bottomed tray full of glass. Notice also the real rose, plucked from my garden this afternoon, in a vase beside my glasspaint.

Next, the video….

I am adding a second layer of paint to create a soft texture and some modeling to the roses. This layer goes on top of the first layer of sumi-esque, calligraphic painting (the tracelines), painted and fired a few weeks back.

IMG_2571

Notice that the roses on the right have only tracelines (the Fred Flintstone phase). The roses on the left have a second layer as well.

The thimbleberry flowers can also be seen at both stages, with tracelines only on the spray at the bottom and two layers of paint on the upper spray of flowers. These will become much, much brighter before they go in the kiln though. I will brush back (remove) the unfired glasspaint to reveal highlights on the petals.

In the last photo you can see the second layer of glasspainting in detail. The larger piece of pink glass I just painted on the video is right in the middle.

IMG_2570

7 thoughts on “Watch me painting roses!

  1. This is so exciting on many levels…seeing the progression from bold lines to shaded details, timing of nature with the painting of the actual rose, and sharing all of this with the glass community! Thank you!

  2. Hello,

    I hope every thing is fine. I so much liked your detailed e.mails about this window, not to forget the lovely videos. Both make the one realy feels that he is at the studio watching every thing live.

    Frankly I was having some difficulties in understanding how I can add the shadowes I need to the glass, yes I can do that with the usual way I used to paint my glass but with propylene it was some how hard to do, I have tried something but didn’t fire it yet, now after watching how you painted the pink flowers I knew I was at the right path.

    Thanks so much for sharing your fine art work with us. Am so looking forward to see the finished window 🙂

    All the best now and always.
    Yours
    Hassan

    • Hi Hassan, Have you downloaded my Student Notes for glasspainting with propylene glycol? You can find them under Resources. A key point is getting the correct ratio of propylene glycol to water when you thin the slaked mixture. Good luck and feel free to send me a message if you have questions. Happy glasspainting, Debora

Leave a Reply

