Joseph, a shoe and 3 seagulls

Glasspainting at last! and really enjoying it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I started with the three seagulls and then couldn’t stop! I moved on to Mary’s sandal and the head of Joseph, because they were lying on my lightbox after their trip to Bill the sandblaster & glass sculptor.

IMG_2344

Fire-polishing

In England I used hydrofluoric acid to remove the flash, but here in Vermont I sandblast and fire-polish instead. It’s safer. Fire-polishing is making the glass hot enough to smooth out the rough surface of the sandblasting but not so hot that it melts into a puddle. Hitting the right temperature is pretty crucial!

Here are the sandblasted pieces with all their masks removed (above),in the kiln, and back in their spots on the easel, fire-polished (below). The body of the flash is a furiously bright green that I will tone down with silver nitrate (aka ‘silver stain’ – the only real ‘stain’ used in traditional stained glass).

IMG_2345

Also in the kiln are two heads and the sandal, plus a couple of test pieces that Sam prepared to experiment with herself.

IMG_2346

2 thoughts on “Joseph, a shoe and 3 seagulls

  1. Very interesting. I was not aware that the sandblasted pieces would require fire polishing before painting. Thanks again for sharing the process and techniques!

  2. Hello,
    I hope all are well, as a start I have to say that it’s the first time I know that sandblasted glass need to be fire polished before painting, which spark a question about the temperature and the hold time? Also you mention the silver stain and you state that aka silver stain is the only real silver stain used in traditional glass painting; I wish if you can give more information about this point because I use different silver stain.
    I thank you again for such a great post and for sharing the steps of your project with us.
    All the best.
    Yours
    Hassan

Leave a Reply

