My new blog! selecting glass & cartooning for Trinity Episcopal

I’ve started this blog to answer questions about my work; to allow clients to watch the creation of their windows (welcome Trinity Episcopal); and to let everyone know that this beautiful medieval art form is still alive and kicking! Since I find it easier to respond than to write afresh, please ask away and we’ll see how it goes. It’s a blog experiment!

COLOUR & GLASS SELECTION
Today I have been selecting and cutting coloured glass for a figurative window for Trinity Episcopal Church in Branford, Connecticut. I choose the glass one piece at a time up against natural light, comparing it with all the others as I go. My easeling window faces north with trees and mountains beyond. I’m always grateful to complete the glasscutting stage during the winter against snow and bare trees, where the only colour distortions are from blue skies. Watch a slideshow of the glass selection for Trinity Episcopal in progress.

IMG_2165

CARTOONING
Some weeks back I presented the cartoon to the Church for Approval. The ink & charcoal cartoon is a full-scale black and white working drawing that provides me with all the information I need to make a window. Watch a slideshow of the cartooning for Trinity Episcopal in progress, including photos of models and some of the revisions.

IMG_2013

CUTLINING & MARKING UP EASEL PLATES
If you’re wondering how visual information from the cartoon is prepared for glasscutting you can watch a slideshow of the cutlining for Trinity Episcopal, and my assistant, Sam Myers, inking in cutlines and marking up easel plates.

DESIGN
Here’s the design, presented to the Church last August.

version2(blue)
Design copyright Debora Coombs 2013

3 thoughts on “My new blog! selecting glass & cartooning for Trinity Episcopal

  1. Even a dvout atheist like me finds your endeavour very moving, and the commitment to a a high level developed skill is challenging to someone who has given up on the search for perfection..

  2. Pingback: Debora Coombs reveals all! | damnopedia

Leave a Reply

